Curried Chicken (Whole30 Compliant)

I love curry, and it plays quite nicely into Whole30.

  • 1 Pound Chicken
  • 1 Onion, chopped
  • 1 Clove Garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbs Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbs Curry Powder
  • 2 Roma Tomatoes, Diced or (1 tomato and some tomato paste)
  • 2 Cups Coconut Milk (if you are doing Whole30, make sure your coconut milk is compliant)
  • Veggies: I used zucchini, snow peas, peppers and celery, but whatever sounds good can go.

In a large skillet or pot, heat olive oil. Add curry powder and stir making a paste. (Note, if you can get curry paste–great! I can’t get it locally and had powder on hand.)

Add onion and garlic then saute in curry paste until onions start to turn translucent.

Add chicken–Season with salt/pepper etc.. to taste and cook until chicken is done (add more olive oil if need for cooking chicken. Use your judgement. I have to drizzel a little more sometimes and sometimes I don’t.)

If you are NOT Whole30 and want to add a sweetener to your curry, you can mix coconut milk, tomato and sweeter, mixing in a seperate bowl if you’d like. This is how I was taught, but I usually just add it right into the pot since I don’t use sweetener. I imagine that it would help get the sweetener mixed more evenly, especially if you use honey.

After Chicken is cooked through, add coconut milk, tomatoes and peppers (if using). Bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally.

Add additional seasoning if needed. I like to add red pepper flakes because I love the heat, but this is a very forgiving recipe. I sometimes add turmeric depending on my mood, but the curry in this photo was seasoned with the curry, salt, pepper, garlic powder and red pepper flakes only.

This will cook down, but it takes some time. If you don’t want to wait you can add tapioca starch or arrow root start to the sauce to thicken it. If you want it soupier, then don’t let it cook as long.

When it reaches your desired consistancy, toss in the veggies you want. Note: I like my veggies to be a little firm. If you like yours soft, you can add them a bit sooner.

I cooked this batch way down, so I had it tossed in with lettuce for a warm curry salad. Have fun playing with it and making it your own!

One thought on “Curried Chicken (Whole30 Compliant)

Leave a Reply

