Pleased–not really

Pleased sounds like such a vanilla term to me (which is odd to say because I love vanilla and don’t find it boring at all). I am not even sure how to write about it. I am a rather extreme gal–I’m pissed or I’m ecstatic–I don’t know if I’ve ever been “pleased”. In fact hearing the word makes me think of Ben Stein in Farris Bueller’s Day Off repeating “Bueller, Bueller…” during roll call.

Honestly, if I wrote you a thank you note saying “I am quite pleased with the gift you gave me”, I am probably being polite, your gift sucked and I will never use it. Pleased is just not part of my vocabulary.

I even tried to think about the word in a sexual context, and again… pleased is just too vanilla. I mean, if I told my hubby I was “pleased” he would know in an instant I was trying to be nice and not hurt his feeling while secretly feeling unsatisfied.

The only time I might use it would be “Pleased to meet you”, and even that would only be because it sort of what people say, even when they are trying to get away as fast as they can.

So I can’t say I’m pleased. I am amazed at this awesome rainy day, giving life to the spring flowers and grass. I am ecstatic my daughter just made me a cup of coffee. I am devastated that my friend is terminally ill and I will never get to see her come home.

Yup–I’m just too extreme to ever really be pleased.

via Daily Prompt: Pleased

Leave a Reply

