Preparation Whole30 Day-1

Nothing is worse when embracing Whole30 (or any elimination diet) than opening a fully stocked refrigerator and there being nothing to eat! It is during these moments–when you’re hungry and time is limited–that you never want to be stuck having to cook a meal.

So, we prep. Don’t get me wrong, I am not a pro-meal-prepper! We are learning together here! This is one of the life changing this that can come out of the Whole30. Honestly, no matter how hard I try to eat healthily, there are times that just grabbing a PB&J is so convenient that I can’t pass it up.

Those days end now. We will always have something good and easy on hand for breakfasts and lunches (Supper, I plan to cook and prepare). Anyway, we did some prep in our free time today, and I wanted to share some it with you. We still have a lot more to do over the next few days as we get in a habit.

Whole30 Meal Prep onions using chopper
We use a chopper for onions when we want to do a lot of them. (( used to use my food processor, but it broke, so it is this until I get a new one)

We cleaned all the fruits and veggies in a vinegar-water solution (well–not the onion) before storing them.

If you recall from my post “Here We Go! #Whole30“, I try to follow the dirty dozen, clean fifteen guidelines when deciding what to purchase organic.

Whether organic or not, I always wash with vinegar-water and then rinse and dry before storing it. This way, if I am in the mood for a blueberry or a piece of celery, I only need to grab and go.

Whole30 Meal Prep chopped onion in a jar
A jar full of onions! We reused a large salsa jar.
Whole30 Prep
We love peppers, and jalapeno peppers can be a challenge to cut last minute because I forget to use gloves! Doing them once a week during prep time using gloves makes it so easy when we want to make Pico de Gallo or salsa, or just to spice up a dish!

One thing I would highly recommend for anyone who wants to make meal prep easier–whether Whole30 or not–is at least one good knife. In my experience, a knife is not where you should cut costs. Get the best one you can afford. You will also want to make sure it is a straight edged knife so you can sharpen it.

I don’t have a collection of fancy knives, just three good ones that cost between $20 and $50 each. I know there are ones that are more expensive, and I dream of them! Forget that Louis Vuitton, I want fabulous knives! The ones I have though, are good, they keep an edge and are easily sharpened when needed. Because my budget is tighter than my jeans, I had to save for what I have, but I think they are money well spent!

When you get some good knives, or if you have them–TAKE CARE OF THEM! Clean them and dry them right away. DO NOT let them sit in the sink, or sit dirty. Treat them well, and they will treat you well!

IMG_2679

Okay, so I didn’t mean to go off a knife rant, but really–they make life easier!

Meat preparation is important too, but I did not get much of that done today. What I did do was cook up some bacon to be made in the microwave as needed. If you live in the US, you’ve probably seen the pre-cooked bacon packages, and you can make your own and use bacon that is minimally processed.

I am not a big fan of bacon, and neither is Alee, so we don’t risk eating a whole package at once, but for a quick protein source, a couple pieces from time to time are nice. What I do is cut the pieces in half (because I prefer smaller pieces) and put them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. I bake them at 350 degrees Fahrenheit until they aren’t quite done.

 

Whole30 meal prep bacon
Uncured bacon can be part of your prep too.
Whole30 Meal Prep Bacon Cooked
Cook bacon a little less than how you like it, so when you heat it up in the microwave it doesn’t get overdone.

Remove the bacon from the cookie sheet and blot excess fat (unless you really like the grease, then you can leave it) and store in a baggie or container. You can even use waxed paper or parchment and separate the pieces like they do in the packages if you want. I just don’t care if they stick together, so I don’t bother.

I save the bacon grease from the pan. Remember, this is a good fat source (still, don’t over do it though) and using a little bacon grease for eggs, asparagus, or whatever you want can add a huge boost of flavor. I keep a container in the fridge, but my grandmother kept a grease can under her kitchen sink. She would drain off fat drippings from everything and slap in the pan when frying. The memory really grosses me out, so I always refrigerate it, but I am not sure if you have to. (I don’t strain the bacon fat either, but when I’ve done my own tallow in the past I did strain that.)

Whole30 Meal Prep Baggies
I need to invest in more containers but for now, I have to use some baggies. I love baggies, but I like to limit my use.
Whole30 Prep use it all up
Be sure to save cuttings for stock or set it aside to compost. Composting indoors is easy if you don’t have space outside.

Well, this post is really getting long! I will post tomorrow some more meat prep, and some make-ahead options. I will also post about our meals today and some “before” pictures.

Thanks for reading, and as always, please comment with ideas or suggestions–or just to say hi!

11 thoughts on “Preparation Whole30 Day-1

    1. I imagine! I do try to get as much of my meat as possible humanely sourced. I would prefer to always get it from known sources–but that isn’t always possible for me. I admire your ability to be vegetarian–I couldn’t do it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My Crohn’s disease would make it hard because I get sick on so much–I would have a very hard time getting enough protein (most protein heavy vegetables set off my Crohn’s). I also can’t eat soy without getting super sick, and so many vegetarian and vegan foods are heavy in soy.

        So this challenge will have a lot of meals with meat in them. Hope it doesn’t gross you out too much.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I will try to not include pictures with the raw meat in the journal posts of the month and write separate how to recipe posts. It would still have the finished product of some of our meals. I really am just putting all of this on here to hold us accountable. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. No no you keep posting just as you are, keeping yourself accountable is a great idea! Even if you don’t have many reading it now I know that down the track people will read it to both get strength and clues on how to diet/fast. Others need this help so please continue on I am just one reader who enjoys your humorous honesty.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. What I mean is–I am trying to create different recipe posts from the journaling posts–and then link them. Otherwise it feels like I’m writing a novel rather a blog! 😂😂 so if you want to see progress notes, there won’t be raw meat photos, but there will be cooked. Just to give you a heads up.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

