Tacos

One of our family’s staples are Tacos. I can’t think of a single time when I’ve made them that everyone wasn’t excited to eat them. I would say we probably have either tacos or a taco salad once a week. There is no other meal I cook with the frequency of this wonderful concoction.

Recently, I have changed our taco recipe and luckily, my family likes the changes far better than they even liked the “packaged” tacos we used to make. I begin by making my own seasoning. When I first started, I would measure out the spices, but I have since learned to eyeball how we like it and get it consistent every time. I use the same container to mix it, and I just know how it looks. You can Google how to make your own taco seasoning, and find plenty of measurements. You will want to adjust it to your own tastes, but most I’ve come across are good.

Here are pictures of how I make my seasoning:

IMG_2474
Salt
IMG_2477
Cumin
IMG_2478
Black Pepper
IMG_2479
Onion Powder
IMG_2480
Garlic Powder
IMG_2481
Smoked Paprika
IMG_2482
Chili Powder
IMG_2483
Cayenne pepper

We used to use the pre-fried corn shells or flour shells, but now I buy organic white corn tortillas and cook them myself. Aleesha and I try not to eat a lot of grains, but a couple of taco shells once a week aren’t too bad. Sometimes we will skip the shells and either make a salad or lettuce wraps. Both are so good! Tonight we had shells fried in Olive Oil and then well drained.

We used and artisan mixed lettuce, pico de gallo and a little bit of guacamole and some cheese for me but not Aleesha. The results were wonderful! Dennis skipped the pico and guac, but added cheese. Aren’t they pretty! Very quick and easy, taste amazing and way healthier than the way I used to make tacos!

IMG_2485
I don’t use a lot of oil when frying the shells, They are sort of between soft and hard. A slight crisp but not crispy.

If you have never made your own taco seasoning and made them with a healthier twist, give it a try! You won’t regret it!

 

3 thoughts on “Tacos

Leave a Reply

