Not so Cole Slaw

Neither of us are typical cole slaw fans, or of any mayonnaise styled salad for that matter. However, we both enjoy cabbage and have enjoyed some Asian style cabbage salads in the past. After getting a good deal on both green and red cabbage last week, I was trying to figure out what to make with them. I came up with a pretty good healthy salad.

One thing people learn quickly about me and cooking is that I am not one to follow a strict recipe. Another thing would be that when I make up a recipe it is going to be by taste, and chances are I don’t know exact measures and that is true with this.

Ingredients:

1/4 Red Cabbage (shredded or finely chopped)
1/4 Green Cabbage (shredded or finely chopped)
1 Apple (I used a pink lady but any crisp tart apple would do, finely chopped)
1/2 Yellow Pepper (finely chopped)

For Dressing:

Apple Cider Vinegar
Olive Oil
Lemon Juice
Honey (I like raw honey)
Coconut Aminos
Salt/Pepper/Garlic

IMG_2429
Photo Courtesy of Sharlene Stromberg

After throwing together the fruit/veggies, I tossing in about a tablespoon of olive oil, two tablespoons of apple cider vinegar, squeezed the juice of 1/4 lemon and one tablespoon of honey. After getting this mixed in well, I added a splash of coconut aminos and spices to taste, then let it sit in the fridge for a couple hours.

Upon taste testing, Aleesha and I both agreed it needed more vinegar (but we love vinegar more than average) so we added in two more cap fulls of the apple cider vinegar and it was just right. I think with this, you will have to play with the dressing until you get your sweet/tart balance right, but it will be worth it! Next time, I think I might try to mix the dressing in small bowl before adding to the salad. (Note* Aleesha added a few sunflower seeds to hers and said it was good.)

This is a double thumbs up for us and we have made it a second time already. If you try it out, let us know and share your thoughts and variations!

Leave a Reply

